Olivet College
Menu Menu

Olivet College’s top five graduates with President Steven M. Corey, Ph.D. (from left: Traci Smith, Andrew Pabst, President Corey, Hailey Willett, Jarred Scheese and Lucia McNally).

Olivet College recognized nearly 200 graduates during Commencement ceremonies Saturday, May 14 at The Cutler Event Center.

The Donald A. Morris Awards are presented each year to the top five graduating seniors with the highest grade point average, and the professor whom each student deems the most influential in his or her academic career.

This year’s honorees include:

Lucia McNally, of Olivet, an actuarial science major. She chose to honor Janine Peters, of Marshall, associate professor of mathematics and computer science, as her most influential professor.

Andrew Pabst, of Corunna, a criminal justice major and insurance claims investigation minor. He selected Regina Armstrong, Ph.D., of Eaton Rapids, associate professor of criminal justice, as his most influential professor.

Jarred Scheese, of Chelsea, an actuarial science major and computer science/general business minor. He also chose Peters as his most influential professor.

Traci Smith, of Charlotte, an insurance and risk management/financial planning major. She chose to honor John Homer, Ph.D., of Olivet, professor of economics.

Hailey Willett, of Leslie, an insurance and risk management major and journalism/mass communication minor. She selected Jeremy Duby, of Okemos, director of bands, as her most influential faculty member.

The Donald A. Morris Award was named after a former president of the college. Morris served Olivet from 1977-92.